Back to Glossary

What is Acquisition Cost or Cost of Acquisition?

Acquisition Cost (AC) is the total amount of money (all-in cost) a company or a business spends on acquiring assets, getting new clients, or overtaking a new company. It is also referred to as the cost of acquisition and most companies and investors refer to as a key business metric. It's also regarded as the total price that business records for property or equipment after accounting for discounts, closing costs and other necessary expenses.

Acquisition cost is fixed and listed before the sales tax is applied. However, companies usually sum up all the expenses like buying, transporting, installing, repairing, and maintaining the items and other related costs. All of this is generally handled by the company's accounts person, certified chartered accountants, or accounting firms.

AC is a very important accounting metric as this gives information about the customer acquisition cost (CAC), which is crucial for a business to run and make profits. CAC is nothing but how much a company spends to gain a customer or client in terms of total cost on its books. And this is calculated by dividing the total acquisition costs by the total new customers made in a set time frame. AC also gives an idea of how much profit a company earns through a customer or a fixed asset.

Here's an example to understand AC better. If a company spent $10,000 to promote its business and got around 100 customers a year, then the acquisition cost is $100 for the same year.

Stay Ahead With Fresh Thinking and Insights

Explore the latest trends, technologies, and strategies in procurement and supply chain management. Dive into insight-packed white papers, research reports, case studies, and webcasts to stay informed and lead the way.

3 AI Adoption Pitfalls To Avoid in Procurement and Supply Chain Management
3 AI Adoption Pitfalls To Avoid in Procurement and Supply Chain Management
Navigating Trade, Tariff and Policy Shifts Under New U.S. Leadership: Action Plan for 2025 and Beyond
Navigating Trade, Tariff and Policy Shifts Under New U.S. Leadership: Action Plan for 2025 and...
The What, Why and How of Total Procurement Orchestration
The What, Why and How of Total Procurement Orchestration
How an American Retailer Saved $25M on Packaging Through Strategic Sourcing Powered by GEP
How an American Retailer Saved $25M on Packaging Through Strategic Sourcing Powered by GEP
How CPG Companies Can Conquer Tail Spend with an AI-Enabled Solution
How CPG Companies Can Conquer Tail Spend With an AI-Enabled Solution